<u>COMMUNITY EDUCATION COUNCIL DISTRICT 28</u> Annual/Business Meeting Minutes July 11, 2024

ATTENDANCE

Member	Position	Attendance
Vijah Ramjattan	President	Present
Quentin Mezetin	1st Vice President	Present
Yutao Cheng	2nd Vice President	Present
Nathifa Lewis	Recording Secretary	Present
Tanya Wendt	Treasurer	Present
Vacant Seat	Member	
Julie Suh	Member	Present
G.K Kalyanaram	Member	Present
Nurun Swapna	Member	Remote Present
Lu Zhao	Member	Remote Present
Simone Dornbach	Member	Remote Present
Vacant Seat	Member	

NON-MEMBER ATTENDANCE

Dr. Eric Blake	Superintendent	Remote Present
----------------	----------------	----------------

ANNUAL MEETING Minutes

Meeting was called to order by President Ramjattan at 6:42pm Roll call by Vijah Ramjattan and Quorum was met.

- Vijah Ramjattan opened the meeting and gave greetings thanked all the Council Members for their wonderful work for the first full year. He asked Spanish interpretation to give instructions. He started off with explaining the process of the annual meeting. He also announced that Adriana Alicea has resigned as she is now the Queens PEP Rep. Vijah thanked Adriana for her time and dedication. Vijah read from the annual script and asked for a chair protem nomination.
- Nathifa Lewis self-nominated as chair protem
- Roll call by Vijah Ramjattan
 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Nathifa Lewis proclaimed as chair protem
- The protem took over the meeting and read script
- The protem asked for nomination for president
- Quentin Mezetin nominated Vijah Ramjattan as President
- Vijah Ramjattan accepted and made a two-minute speech while the AA kept time
- Roll call by protem Nathifa Lewis
 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Vijah Ramjattan proclaimed as President for
 2024-2025
- President Ramjattan took over the meeting and read the script
- President Ramjattan announced that he will take nomination for 1st VP
- Simone Dornbach nominated Quentin Mezetin for 1st VP

- Quentin Mezetin accepted and made a two-minute speech while the AA kept time
- Roll call by President Ramjattan
 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Quentin Mezetin proclaimed as1st Vice President for 2024-2025
- President Ramjattan nominated Yutao Cheng as 2nd VP
- Nurun Swapna nominated Yutao Cheng as 2nd VP
- Simone Dornbach nominated Nurun Swapna as 2nd VP
- Yutao Cheng nominated GK Kalyanaram as 2nd VP
- President Ramjattan asked each candidate if they accept or decline the nomination
- Yutao Cheng accepted, Nurun Swapna declined, G.K Kalyanaram declined
- Yutao Cheng accepted and made a two-minute speech while the AA kept time
- Roll call by President Ramjattan
 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Yutao Cheng proclaimed as1st Vice President for
 2024-2025
- President Ramjattan announced that he will take nomination for Recording Secretary
- Simone Dornbach nominated Nathifa Lewis as Recording Secretary and thanked her for the work she has done as Recording Secretary thus far
- Nathifa Lewis nominated Tanya Wendt as Recording Secretary
- President Ramjattan nominated Julie Suh as Recording Secretary
- 2nd VP Yutao Cheng nominated Nurun Swapna as Recording Secretary
- Nathifa Lewis declined, Nurun Swapna declined, Tanya Wendt declined and Nurun Swapna declined
- Nathifa Lewis accepted and made a two-minute speech while the AA kept time
- Roll call by President Ramjattan
- 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Nathifa Lewis proclaimed as for Recording Secretary for 2024-2025
- Quentin Mezetin nominated Tanya Wendt as Treasurer
- Tanya Wendt accepted and made a two-minute speech while the AA kept time
- Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis
- 10 yes; 0 opposed; 2 absent Tanya Wendt proclaimed as for Treasurer for 2024-2025
- President Ramjattan announced all the new titles once more and thanked all members for his closing remarks.
- Superintendent Dr. Blake gave greetings and thanked the members for their service

BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES ATTENDANCE

Member	Position	Attendance
Vijah Ramjattan	President	Present
Quentin Mezetin	1st Vice President	Present
Yutao Cheng	2nd Vice President	Present
Nathifa Lewis	Recording Secretary	Present
Tanya Wendt	Treasurer	Present
Vacant Seat	Member	
Julie Suh	Member	Present
G.K Kalyanaram	Member	Present
Nurun Swapna	Member	Remote Present
Lu Zhao	Member	Remote Present
Simone Dornbach	Member	Remote Present
Vacant Seat	Member	

Meeting was called to order by President Ramjattan at 7:24pm Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis and Quorum was met

Council Members recapped on the CEC candidates, asked each member to make a speech before they vote

Each council member voted for each candidate Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis

Paquita Williams 8 in favor; 2 opposed; 0 absent April Harris 0 in favor; 10 opposed; 0 absent Erica Brooks 2 in favor; 8 opposed; 0 absent Paquita Williams was announced as the newest CEC28 member Paquita Williams accepted and made a two-minute speech

Motion was made by President Ramjattan to adopt June's Meeting Minutes Seconded by Member Quentin Mezetin

Council Members discussed district planning meeting for 2025-2026 SY and gave their feedback.

Council Members briefly discussed CEC28 bylaws and the committee agreed to work on revising the bylaws accordingly.

President Ramjattan gave his feedback on each candidate. He mentioned that they are all qualified and encourage them to reapply should CEC28 have another vacant seat.

President Ramjattan announced that he was made aware the QBP has appointed a new member but they have not been cleared to serve as of yet. President Ramjattan asked the members to look at the committee on the website and see which group they would like to join so that they can be assigned at the next meeting.

Council Members discussed the modified the budget for 2024-2025.

Motion was made by President Ramjattan to approve the modified budget Seconded by Member Quentin Mezetin Roll call by Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis 10 yes; **0** opposed; 2 absent

Business Meeting Adjourned at [7:59pm]

Respectfully Adopted by

Recording Secretary Nathifa Lewis